Chapter 2: Wrong Answer

I think it’s safe to say that we’ve all been wrong before. Regardless of the situation, no one can be right all the time, right? Well, I don’t mean to brag, but I’m generally right about most things. Don’t get me wrong, I’m most definitely not saying that I’m correct all the time. But, there comes a time when I speak out and usually when I do, I’m right. For that, many of my friends ask me for advice, usually about the little things in life. You know relationship advice, what I think about certain issues, and the occasional “what should I eat for breakfast?” However, the day came that made me question how good my advice actually was.

Like any of the stories you will read on my blog, the names are always fake, with that in mind, this is how the story went. My friend, Bartacus texted me one day asking about this girl he liked, named Cleopatra. Now I knew who Cleopatra was, we weren’t exactly friends at the time, but we knew about each other. Kind of like the guy who sits in the same seat every class or the co-worker who parks in the same parking spot every day. Now the problem with this is the conversation we had next.

Bartacus: So, what do you think about her?

Me: Uh she’s okay I guess, why?

Bartacus: Well, her and I have been talking for a while now and I’m thinking about asking her out.

Me: Oh cool, that’s great.   *Blank stare*

Bartacus: So what should I say?

Me: Huh?

Bartacus: I can’t tell if she likes me or not. That’s why I’m asking you what should I say?

Me: I don’t know, have you tried saying hi?

Bartacus: Seriously man, come on.

Me: Okay, okay. Well, if you want to find out if she likes you, do something spontaneous. If she responds positively then you’ll know.

Bartacus: Okay, yeah, that sounds easy enough. Thanks man .

*At that moment Josiah knew, he messed up. *

 

IMG_20161208_195848.jpg
When I realized who I told to be spontaneous

 

A couple hours after the deadly text he sent back, he sent another one saying, “yeah I don’t think she likes me.” Of course, with me always being right, I had to ask,”what exactly did you do?” He didn’t respond, so I did what any rational person does when someone doesn’t respond within three minutes. I checked all his social media. After opening app after app to see what was taking him so long, I came across a post from Cleopatra. It read, ” new friend wanted” strange right? 

Within minutes of my journey through social medias, text message after text message from Bartacus came in. I won’t tell you all the details about what the messages said, but to sum it all up. He asked her on a date, however, this wasn’t the problem. The problem is who he brought along on their date. 

tumblr_n6f6ns2uhf1s7jtozo1_500
Epic fail

Maybe spontaneous wasn’t the best word for me to use for him. I was kind of expecting him to do something more along the lines like this.

 

fresh prince.jpg
Girl, I loves you and I needs you.

 

For all the grammar lovers out there, I apologize for the sentence, but you get the point. I completely underestimated  Bartacus’s idea of spontaneous. So was I wrong for giving my advice? Maybe, but at least one positive thing came out of that day. I made a new friend. Oh, and they stayed friends.

 

Leave a Reply

